Liquid Protein Diet for Fat Loss?

I’ve been working out for about 3 months now, and though I’ve seen good gains in my strength I’m not loosing body fat the way I would like. It’s been quite some time since I’ve worked out seriously before this, but I’ve been very diligent over the last three months and I’ve kept my diet very clean. Lot’s of cottage cheese, grilled chicken, apples, popcorn as a snack with no butter, oat meal for breakfast and things of that nature. I am averaging about 4 to 6 egg whites a day, and I have all but given up soda for water, I maybe have 1 soda a week.

Over the 3 months I’ve been working out 5 days a week, using the elliptical machine to burn 500 calories (at least). On heavy cardio days I will do 750 to 1000 calories on the elliptical machine and some else to switch things up.

I’m lifting not really for size but for strength, 4 days a week:

Chest and Back on Monday
Legs and shoulders on Tuesday
Wed Heavy cardo
Thurs Chest and Back
And Friday or Sat I’ll hit legs and shoulders again

I know that I’ve been putting on muscle mass, many people have said they notice my chest and arms are getting a lot bigger, but I’m only down 6 to 8 lbs of actual weight. I’ve struggled with weight my whole life, because growing up I was never taught about healthy eating, as a kid I mostly ate Mac and Cheese, hot dogs, and other crap like that, so I was always over weight.

I’ve been eating about the following, (my roommate who is a personal trainer says to give my self a cheat meal so once a week I’ll take a meat and eat whatever I want) usually a bunch of prim rib or something like that yummmmmmmm.

Wake up: Go work out, after my work out 1 Apple and Peanut butter (organic) and or 4 Egg whites.

Morning Snack: (Two hours later) I eat a protein bar.