T Nation

Link Between Shoulders & Back Width

I’ve been lifting for a couple of years now and i have in the past been corrupted by the bro-science. one of the main things that i’ve heard in some of my old gyms is that doing pull ups will give you a wider back. i’m not in any sense trying to argue against this but from what i understand when i have heard people say this i get the feeling that they mean that they will get broader shoulders.

i understand that there is delt involvement in this movement, so yes, from this their shoulders will get wider but is there any other link between a wider back and wider shoulders? do the traps play any role in the broadness of our shoulders or does training the traps give us the yoke on our necks? Are the lats limited in the size to which they grow by the broadness of our shoulders?

thanks in advance…

You can not change your clavicle width. You can only make your medial delts grow, giving the illusion of a wider girdle. Lats have nothing to do with shoulders

You cannot make your shoulders any wider than they are, you can only make them appear wider. Shoulder width is determined by your skeletal structure and you are stuck with what you’ve got. I have narrow clavicles and thus narrow shoulders–a curse, yet I’m trying to make up for it by concentrating on building up size in my delts and lats.

Overdeveloped traps will pull up on your shoulders, making them appear even narrower, so someone like me has to be careful not to go overboard on traps. The potential size of your lats is certainly limited by skeletal structure, but it also has a lot to do with where your lats “insert”.

Some insert high and some low. The lower your lats insert, the larger you will be able to make them (because there is more initial mass to work with as a matter of genetics).