Linear Progression

I have been reading rippetoe and Bill starr and I have some questions about the purpose of programs that focus on adding to the bar each workout with low volume and raising intensity, for the begginner lifter.

If strength comes from training your CNS, why focus on something like 3x5 rather than drilling continuously low weight squats, presses and such until you have trained your CNS and drilled the shit out of the motor pathways (is that the right term?) to activate how you want until it is almost second nature.

In a video I was watching of strength camp, He talks about the cheesy wax on wax off danial san training in karate kid as an example of this.

For example if someone starts SS as a total beginner, what are the chances of them getting enough reps in so that their form is good enough and holds up when they start getting into the higher numbers?

Also I was looking at some of babylovers posts about SS on that other site and He says that it is not enough volume for a beginner, He claims that if you are squatting under 200 pounds, it is impossible to over train as you can’t stress your CNS to a point of over training. He also claims routines like SS leave people with weak upper backs, rear delts etc, which I thought was an interesting point as many of the before and afters do seem to indicate this.

Anyway, I am just trying to read as much as possible, I am thinking of reading Pavel Tsatsouline’s book and the vault by dave tate if anyone has read them let me know if they are worth reading.

If anyone could explain the reason for a linear progression and low volume as opposed to very high volume, minimal weight to drill and master the technique I would be interested to hear and see if there are many opposing schools of thought people could tell me about.