T Nation

Light-Headed During Workouts

So I’ve been lifting seriously for about 6 months, but it just seems like I can’t push myself hard enough to get good results.

It’s always been like this, whenever I push myself really hard I get light-headed and feel like I’m going to pass out. Sometimes I even feel nauseous and feel like I could pass out at any second.

I was just wondering what I could do to help remedy this, because I really want to be able to hit the weights hard and I feel like this is holding me back. Is the problem in my pre-workout meal? I try to get in lots of carbs/calories, maybe I’m just not getting enough?

Anyways, any help is appreciated, thanks.

I think the problem is you aren’t conditioned to do the work you are attempting. Post what you do. It’s possible what you are doing is just too much for you right now. Remember, even the pro’s (bodybuilders, powerlifters, O lifters, whatever) started small at first. Volume is something that the body has to get used to over time.

I’ve been at this for some time now and I experience the same thing on occasion. I don’t have an answer as to a cause, but I can give you some suggestions.

First, make sure you are breathing while lifting and not bouncing around a lot. Chin-ups make me light-headed more than anything. I have to deliberately keep a certain pace instead of just hammering them out to prevent it.