Lifting with an Inguinal Hernia

Hello all,
I have an inguinal hernia. It does not hurt and I am just saying, fuck it, and continuing to lift. I would like to know if anyone personally has lifted for an extended period of time with any significant weights, 2x or more bodyweight squat and dead with an inguinal hernia.

Not to be blunt but to everyone and anyone reading this who wishes to share anecdotal tales of what their cousin did or what they have heard, I do not care at all. I only want to know if anyone reading personally has lifted with an inguinal hernia and what their results were in the long term.

Thanks

I’ve been lifting with one for a couple years now. It doesn’t bother me and I wouldn’t have known I had one unless the doctor told me. My stats are 50 years, 6’ 2", 180lbs, squat 350lbs, deadlift 455 lbs. One thing my doctor told me to be careful of is holding your breath when squatting or pulling. I ignore this advice and it hasn’t been a problem.

4 posts in 7 years. Fucking awesome.

at age 47 I found out I had my second hernia . I continued to deadlift ( not quite to 2x B.W. at the time ) for almost a year . finally got spooked and got it fixed . dont think continuing to pull had any negative consequences , as recovery was swift . I was back in the gym for floor presses in about 2 weeks . started bare-bar squatting at about 3 and a half weeks . pretty sure I was back to heavy triple territory in about 14 weeks .

[quote]jimbo123 wrote:
I’ve been lifting with one for a couple years now. It doesn’t bother me and I wouldn’t have known I had one unless the doctor told me. My stats are 50 years, 6’ 2", 180lbs, squat 350lbs, deadlift 455 lbs. One thing my doctor told me to be careful of is holding your breath when squatting or pulling. I ignore this advice and it hasn’t been a problem.[/quote]