Lifting W/O A Partner

I have been lifting for about the last 3 years without a partner. I have made slow progress and I’m not entirely unhappy with where I am at right now. What I have come to realize is that I’m not that strong. Compared to most guys in the gym I can hold my own, but I know I’m capable of much more. Here are my numbers:

5’7", 180lbs
12%bf

Max Bench 245lbs (dropped 250 on my chest, no spotter) Goal-315

Max squat 300lbs. Goal 400+

Max DL 365lbs Goal 400+

Lifting heavy on DL’s is easy (what’s a spotter gonna’ do on that?). My problem is that since dropping 250 on my chest I’m a little gun-shy about going all-out heavy. My gym is small and almost deserted when I’m there. I’m looking for some advise or tips on working out alone and using heavy weights.

[quote]PGJ wrote:
I have been lifting for about the last 3 years without a partner. I have made slow progress and I’m not entirely unhappy with where I am at right now. What I have come to realize is that I’m not that strong. Compared to most guys in the gym I can hold my own, but I know I’m capable of much more. Here are my numbers:

5’7", 180lbs
12%bf

Max Bench 245lbs (dropped 250 on my chest, no spotter) Goal-315

Max squat 300lbs. Goal 400+

Max DL 365lbs Goal 400+

Lifting heavy on DL’s is easy (what’s a spotter gonna’ do on that?). My problem is that since dropping 250 on my chest I’m a little gun-shy about going all-out heavy. My gym is small and almost deserted when I’m there. I’m looking for some advise or tips on working out alone and using heavy weights. [/quote]

Well, instead of going heavy on bench you could switch to dumbbells that way you wouldn’t have to worry about a spot.

Or if you have a power rack you could bench in the power rack.

Another option is to bench in the smith machine. But I will get flamed for mentioning that so i’m not going to. But it would be a better option than dropping 250 pounds on your chest.