Lifting on a Busy Schedule

I am fairly new to lifting. How should a person who works full time, has kids in afternoon activities, approach building muscle and getting leaner? Should I work one body part per day or do total body? I have a small gym at home with a barbell, Dumbbells, squat rack and two benches.

[quote]Tarheelboy wrote:
I am fairly new to lifting. How should a person who works full time, has kids in afternoon activities, approach building muscle and getting leaner? Should I work one body part per day or do total body? I have a small gym at home with a barbell, Dumbbells, squat rack and two benches. [/quote]

I wake up at 0450 to squeeze in my training so that I have time for my job and family for the rest of the day.

With the equipment you have, you could run 5/3/1, which would be a great start.

Set aside specific times for lifting and make it a part of your schedule. If you have an irregular schedule (I do), pick the 3-4 days a week that will work best for you to train and schedule it for then (an irregular schedule will also mean you have to choose your programming a little more carefully).

First thing in the morning like Punisher said. Shapes and sets the mood for my day. Plus, I feel like I have control of my training that way. I can get up, eat something, train hard and I am more focused and centered for the rest of the day.

Here’s an article by Ben Bruno that suits lifters who don’t have a lot of spare time.