T Nation

Lifting Makes You Stupid

I am a student at KU, and have a friend majoring in Psychology. He came back from class today with some allegations that his highly respected psych. professor gave his class. His professor said that aerobic exercise is best for you b/c it first elevates the systolic blood pressure to about 150 mmHg then lowers it to about 120 mmHg during the workout, a great stress reliever and healthier for you than anaerobic workouts. He then said that anaerobic workouts, such as power cleans, elevate your systolic BP to about 300 mmHg, and at this pressure blood vessels start bursting in your brain and killing off neurons. From this the professor said that anaerobic lifting over a period of time will make people stupid.
Now from what my friend has told me about this professor is that he is highly respected, and knows his stuff. But, it seems slightly unfounded to me that he would make the allegation that lifting would make people stupid over time. Granted that what he stated probably happens, but I don’t know to what extent and how many neurons it actually kills off. Does anyone else out there know about this or have other insight on the topic? Also, from what my friend gathered during the lecture there have been no studies to support what his professor said.

My opinion: the professor is making excuses for being small and weak.

me lift heavy stuff and me no stoopid

Well, it would explain my posting over the years…

MBE: “9 out of 10 dentists don’t know who the hell he is!”

Do YOU think you’re getting stupid by lifting?

Finally…an EXCUSE!!!

Sorry, what was the question? :wink:

Uhhhhh…I think the fact that we have some of the smartest people in their respective fields, posting on this board, writing the mag, and hosting the website, kinda disputes the professors claims.