Lifting Heavier, But Bad Back

Its pretty obvious everyone here is high on deadlifts and squats and things like that, but i have three discs that are pretty bad, dried out/bulging/all that fun stuff, they dont bother me near as much now because i have lost 115 pounds now, but i know i cant do deadlifts

i have been training pretty hard for maybe 2 months now, i have two days a week of leg work and it is hard to find stuff i can do, am i really limited to leg extensions/curls? i can do lighter weights on squats but i dont know if that even helps, i really dont dare do deadlifts, my knees are not the greatest either but i can do the leg extenstions without killing them

do leg presses work even close to as well as squats? i am getting tempted to just scrap the leg days and count on my cardio work (40 min/per day) to work the legs

do i even bother with lighter weight squats to be easy on the back or is that worthless?

the rest of my program is working well for me, chest/back one day, biceps/triceps/shoulders another day, with ab work every day (6 days a week) , only thing that sucks is i waited too long to get serious , still-better late than never i guess

sorry, this could probably use another thread, but the only way i can really lose weight is a low carb diet, but i hear great things about Surge, do i just stay away or would the carbs not hurt if i am working out right before?, i still have maybe 15 pounds to lose (yes i was a fat ass 341 pounds at 6 foot 3)

Man congrats on the fat loss. Keep doing what you are doing. However if you want to experiment with the peri-workout and post-workout nutrition there is an author here by the name of Shugart that wrote a very thorough article on this same issue and the results are very promising.