Lifting Frequency

Hey guys I’m 17 almost 18 and been playin varsity baseball since i was a freshman and have been strength training/powerlifting a good amount, not 100% serious though until a few months ago. I was wondering if I should keep squats/deadlifts to ONCE a week or go TWICE a week? Some say once a week but I tend to recover very quick even from an intense heavy deadlift day. after about 3 days (4 max) im completely healed and feel no soreness and ready to go yet i still wait the extra 3 days till my deadlift or squat day comes around again.

I feel like its holding me back and im not improving my strength whatsoever. I eat plenty enough and rest enough even with school being an issue yet i dont feel like i target my muscle groups enough throughout the week. I dont want to over train (its why im asking on the forum)but if im recovering in 72hours would it be ok to do deads/squats/bench 2x a week? any advice is greatly appreciated.

Here’s what I was thinking:

day 1: legs
day 2: chest/tri’s
day 3: back/bi’s
day 4: rest
day 5: legs
day 6: chest/tri’s
day 7: back/bi’s
day 8: off

It works great in theory, but you’ll never know until you spend a month or so doing it. I recover pretty quickly but eventually I need to give my joints more time to recover. It also depends how heavy you train, heavy triples are probably not the best idea.

Try it with a moderate amount of reps and try to stick in that range. But be open to change the routine if you need more rest.

[quote]MikiB wrote:
It works great in theory, but you’ll never know until you spend a month or so doing it. I recover pretty quickly but eventually I need to give my joints more time to recover. It also depends how heavy you train, heavy triples are probably not the best idea.

Try it with a moderate amount of reps and try to stick in that range. But be open to change the routine if you need more rest.[/quote]