T Nation

Lifting for About 2 Yrs Now, Did Blood Work and Cholesterol was High! Nervous

typically i eat fine, but these are the numbers
total cholesterol is 235, it should be under 200
HDL is 40.
LDL is high they said, 177
TRIGLYCERIDES is 76

how freaking bad are these numbers? since i started lifting i have increased my red meat intake by ALOT.

trying to avoid medicine at all costs. as my diet is not bad since i try to eat healthy and lift, he said to add more cardio after the sessions too. and il probably cut out all red meat for now.
anyone have any input and advice on this, im trying to avoid medication at all cost cus once ur on its for life.

According to who?

Total cholesterol becomes a little meaningless when you are maxing out HDL like that. Mine is 80, and drives my total number high.

Do you have a strong family history of heart disease or type 2 diabetes?
Have you been shown to have blockages, or a high calcium score?
Are you very over-fat? (need to lose 20% of body weight or more)

If you answered no to these, then your numbers may very well be ideal. Lowering your cholesterol might not even be good for you.

(How much red meat and what are your sources?)

Total Cholesterol

This number doesn’t mean much.

Total Cholesterol = HDL 40 + LDL 177 + (Triglycerides 76/5)

Football Game Analogy

Total Cholesterol is similar to “Time of Possession” in a football game. You add up the amount of time each team had the ball and you end up with 60 minutes.

The amount of points scored is more important than the “Time Of Possession”.

That means there are other number that are more important than you Total Cholesterol number.

LDL

LDL has been vilified as the evil number. You LDL number is high.

However, that doesn’t necessarily mean it is bad.

The determinate factor of if you LDL is good or bad is the percentage of your Sub Particle LDL.

Particle A LDL

If you have a large percentage of Particle A LDL, that good.

Particle B LDL