T Nation

Lifting At Home

First of all I would like to say I am amazed by and respect the dedication many of you have here at T-Nation. As a beginner I can see how some could get discouraged and not continue. Those of you with the ability to stick with it says something about your character. This of course can be said not only about lifting but about many other things in life that help to make you a better person.

I am a 35 year old beginner. I am not looking to be a body builder I am just wanting to improve my body. There is no conveniently located gym near my home so I will be lifting at home. I recently purchased a used piece of equipment which is sitting in my basement. I have been reading here at the Magnum forums and other site to help me get started.

I am limited on what I can do so would like opinions on how to get the best out of what I have. I am going to try and attach a similar picture of what I have to work with here at home.

It came with 100lbs of weight and a bench press bar. I am thinking about buying more weight so I don’t have to waste time moving it around for different exercises. Also, should I buy a bar for preacher curl and dumbbells? What would you suggest.

After doing some reading this is a program I came up with.

Monday
bench press: 2x8
skull crushers: 2x5
calf raises: 2x10
full squats: 2x8

Tuesday
dumbbell shoulder press: 2x6
Preacher curls: 3x6

Thursday
Bench Press: 2x8
Incline Press: 2x8
skull crushers 2x5
calf raises: 2x10

Friday
lateral bar pulldown: 2 sets x as many as possible
dumbbell shoulder presses: 2x8
dumbbell hammer curls: 2x8
lying leg curl: 2x8

The machine I have only has the upper lat bar. It does not have the lower pulley shown in the supplied picture. Like I said this is not the exact equipment I have.

That is good enough to get started. The biggest thing will be to train hard and stick with it.

Consistency is the key.

more leg work.

Get the deadlift in there.

You need the big 8:

Squat
Deadlift
Bench Press