Lifting After Triceps Surgery

Hello

I have been lifting for about 10 years until a few months ago I tore my triceps tendon completely off my elbow on a set of heavy skull-crushers. I had the surgery where they drill holes in your elbow and sew the tendon back to the bone, did the physical therapy and now am out and plan on returning to lifting. My doc told me that I should avoid ‘extreme weights’ and lift light weights for high reps, while my therapist told me I should be able to gradually increase the weights and eventually lift heavier again. Prior to the surgery I was benching 400 pounds pretty regularly. I would like to lift heavy again in the future but obviously dont want to re-injure my tendon. My question is has anyone had this surgery and eventually returned to lifting heavy again?

Thanks.

I am fortunate to have never torn a triceps tendon. But I did rupture a biceps tendon in 2001, necessitating the bone-drilling type of repair you mentioned. So I have experience relevant to yours.

Frankly, I don’t know whether your strength will return to its prodigious pre-injury levels. I am confident that, assuming your surgery was successful, you’ll be able to return to training hard and successfully. And it’s on this topic (ie, your future training) that I’d like to comment. This is because there was, presumably, a fundamental flaw in your training style that led to your injury. That is, something about your training method led to the catastrophic injury you suffered (and I have a hunch as to what that was). And if you go back to training in the same manner, odds are that you will suffer another significant injury.