Lifestyle Change Starting Today

Hey all

I’ve been reading T-Nation articles for about 2 months now, so much great information. Used to check out bb.com, but since coming here think I’ve finally found a great source of knowledge to last me… well, a while.

Anyways, onto my query. I’m a 26 year old fat bastard. Even though I’m bulky, at a staggering 121kg (266lb) and only 180cm (5’11) with about 27% body fat, I need to lose at least 20, hopefully 30-35kg of body fat. Went to see doc about a blood test (routine) and turns out I got a fatty liver (even though cholesterol levels are fine) so most likely cause is me being a fatty, fat fat. This, I think was the final straw that managed to kick me out of the stupor I’ve been in the last 2 years or so.

One of my concerns is my current routine. I work in IT Support and do shift work (12 hour shifts) which revolves around a 9 day working week. The pattern is 2 day shifts (7am - 7pm), followed by 2 night shifts (7pm - 7am) then 5 days off. Yeah, I know its a lot of time off each ‘week’ but it also means I’ve spend weeks at a time doing bugger all, gaining sweet World of Warcraft skills and generally getting lazy, apathetic and placing myself in my current predicament. This needs to change.

This is where my body is at now:

I’ve been thinking of doing the T-Dawg diet. Eat every three hours, stick with chicken, tuna, turkey, lean red meat, oats, broccoli and lettuce, cut all junk food and soft drinks and booze and drink about 2-3 liters of water a day.

Exercise wise, I was thinking of doing Chad Waterbury’s Total Body Training but modifying it to 4 sessions per 9 days. So, my schedule would be something along the lines of this :

1st Day Shift - Weights + 40 minutes of Light Cardio
2nd Day Shift - 45 minute Spin/RPM class (lesmills.com/global/en/members/rpm/about-rpm.aspx)
1st Night shift - Weights + 40 minutes of Light Cardio
2nd Night shift - 45 minute Spin/RPM class
1st Day Off - Rest