Life Without a Cause?

Well, I was joking around on one of the political forums and I mentioned that I’d be happy to crusade for the rest of my life.

It has me thinking. What is life without a cause? Bear with me, I’m not a religious type so I’d have to pick my own cause.

If we all just go to work and pay the bills are we really living? I don’t have a family, so my cause isn’t simply to protect, educate and provide for my children. I wouldn’t criticize if that was your cause in life, but it can’t be mine yet.

There are a ton of causes to choose from. You can be an environmentalist, a religious bigot, right wing zealot, left wing zealot, profiteer, entertainer, athlete and so on. You can dedicate yourself to these things.

I mean, I have a job and I’m a professional, but it isn’t something that fills me with pride or breathes life into my soul if you know what I mean.

The closest thing I have to a cause right now is being fit and healthy. However, that isn’t a cause. It simply keeps me able bodied, healthy and capable. The question I have to ask is for what? Chasing women? Heh, not a bad idea, but probably not a cause.

Do I need to find something I believe in and pursue it? I’ll never be a religious believer, I truly value thinking and forming ones own thoughts, so that would be counter to my inherent priorities.

How many of you out there truly have a cause? What drives your thinking from waking to sleeping and gives you energy or satisfaction as you pursue it? Anything? Is that the difference between traditional sheeple and the odd hero or famous historical figure?

I don’t have any answers. Just something that crossed my mind as I sat here relaxing with some PWO nutrition. Any thoughts?

V

There are many great causes to live for. One particular “cause” that drives me are my wife and children.