T Nation

Life After One Lift a Day?

I am coming up on the end of my 8 week One Lift a Day program with great progress (broke all my PRs).

After the rest week....whats next? High volume, moderate weights? This program took a toll on my joints and I would like to give them a bit of rest but not lose my newly gained strength.

Any ideas?

one lift a day seems like a real dumb training protocol to me.... unless you're a total noob to training. it's not enough work to get serious gains. anyone with an even moderate level of conditioning should be able to handle much much much more volume of training.

Y'ought to give it a try first, if you haven't.

read responses from anybody who's tried this. supposed to be pretty tough, the guy who made it talks about very few people going to school/work the day after squat day.

no thanks. i can handle more than one exercise a day, thanks.

Then you have no reason to be knocking the program. "It doesn't look like a good program and I'm not willing to try it" isn't a very convincing argument. I for one would take Danny John's training advice over yours any day.

The weird thing about strength training is that two entirely different programs can produce good results.

The one lift a day program is almost the opposite of a lot of programs, but it produces excellent strength gains.

I wouldn't recommend it for hypertrophy, but it is very good for getting stronger.

I was thinking the same thing till I started it. Day 1, dumbell press didnt seem that hard. Day 2 deadlift, IM starting to feel it it all over later in the day, and day 3 is parallel close grip sternum pullups. Today is day 4, off day and my body thanks me. Do the big lifts and do them hard and its hard to say that its just for beginners.

I am not here to argue if it works or not (which it does).

Just aksing what sort of program people found effective after the one lift a day?

I followed it up with hypertrophy work ala Waterbury type stuff.