Leva's Strongman Training Log

Hey everybody,

Figured I’d make a log just to get some insight from other strongman lifters.

I started lifting a little over a year ago as a way to turn my life away and stop feeling sorry for myself. I went from 290lbs in Nov 2011 to 213 in December of 2013. I started lifting in March of 2013. I started lifting with the goal to not be fat anymore, but be huge and buff. Then I decided I wanted to be a strongman/powerlifter.

I started 5/3/1 shortly after that. I wish that I had done SS, but thats in the past now, no use crying over spilled milk haha. I was doing 5/3/1 BBB since august of 2013 with lifts of

Bench: 195x2
Squat: 225x3
Deadlift: 260x6
Overhead Press: 135x3

I did BBB for 6 or so months and took almost 2 full months off because I started boxing and doing calisthenics, big mistake. All my lifts suffered. Just a minor setback. After dropping my rep maxes 3-4 months , I started again with BBB, but I couldn’t handle the monotonous lifting. I switched over to Wendlers Full Body Full Boring template and have been doing it for 2 months. Ive seen amazing strength gains, far better then my 6 months on BBB. recently tested maxes are as follows.

Bench: 200x5 (5/20)
Squat: 260x2, 265x1, 275x1 (5/17)- after working up from 235x5 to 265 in 5lb increments doing doubles
Deadlift: 365x1(5/17)- from 315x3, going up 10 lbs pulling doubles
Overhead Press: 150x1 (4/28)

(note: My squat is lower then it should be after a year of lifting due to my first 7 months of lifting having only access to a smith machine to squat with.)

Thats my lifting history up until now. Now on to the Strongman stuff!