Lethal Force Discussion

@Californiagrown

Good thread idea. This is a topic that’s been of personal interest since I took my first firearms class, mandated by CT law in order to buy a handgun in CT at the time. Since then I’ve taken several other classes and read many books, credible blogs and other material on the subject.

I AM NOT AN EXPERT. NOTHING I WRITE SHOULD BE CONSIDERED LEGAL ADVICE. IT IS UP TO YOU TO KNOW THE LAWS IN YOUR JURISDICTION AND THOSE YOU TRAVEL TO. THIS THREAD IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.

With that out of the way, I’d like a place to discuss all things lethal force related. We have LEO’s and lawyers on this forum who cough might even chime in. Keep in mind that lethal force and deadly force are the same thing, and the terms are sometimes used interchangeably.

I originally had this in PWI, but I’d prefer to keep the conversation centered around how things are, not how someone might like them to be, so I moved it to the Combat forum. That said, it’s open game on discussing borderline cases, incidents from different countries, varying courses of action and whatever other lethal force rabbit holes there are to be explored that may result in disagreement. Disagreement is fine.

Let’s just not turn it into a gun control discussion or anything resembling it. Start another thread if you want to talk policy.

What is lethal force?

Deadly force is generally defined as physical force which, under the circumstances in which it is used, is readily capable of causing death or serious physical injury. In order for deadly force to be justified there must be an immediate, otherwise unavoidable threat of death or grave bodily harm to yourself or other innocents. Deadly force is that force which could reasonably be expected to cause death or grave bodily harm.

I can’t speak for cops. Perhaps @Frank_C will be kind enough to share his thoughts.