T Nation

Lessons I've Learned as a Complete Newb

To start off, this isn't a general dishwater blind-leading-the-blind post, this is more about important, overlooked details about training philosophy that total newbs (such as myself) may not consider and can benefit learning from. I'm not an expert so I'll let some of the vets correct me if need be.

I started my bodybuilding training 6 months ago. Started out at 136lbs 6% BF. Now I'm around 152 3-4% BF. Anyway here are some important things I've learned so far:

1) IT TAKES TIME
Everyone know this already, but really take the time and burn this concept into your brain. It took me awhile to come to grips with this reality and the faster you accept it, the better off you'll be. I wouldn't look at my gains so far and call them great, I'd be reluctant to call them good. My current goal is to get to 165, but even so, frustration creeps in often. I look back at this past week and I feel I trained very well: I soaked myself in sweat, I strained and ached during every lift, and I even wore out my voice from grunting. I got my PWO protocol down to a T, everything seemed to be in place. I stepped on the scale today to see that my weight was the same. If you let frustration take over you, you will never get the results you want. So don't quit because you don't look like Arnold in your first year of training.

2) THERE IS NO MAGIC BULLET SUPPLEMENT
We all know the products out there that promise amazing results. 2 months ago, I ordered a bunch of MAG-10 because I thought it would keep the anabolic switch on at all times. The results were minimal, because as a beginner, training & eating right are more than enough to trigger peak anabolism. Supps of that caliber are really for the elite athletes that are doing everything right already, but for some reason, can't reach their full anabolic potential. So don't spend top-dollar for these supps. If your diet and training are already in order, then you won't need them AT ALL!!!!!