T Nation

Length Of Time for a Hiatus?

I’ve heard stories in the past as long as a whole Month.
For me, I’m About a 6 Foot 22O Lb Bodybuilder, Resting Hesrt
Rate in The Low 40’s, 44 YO, and I really have never taken more than
2 OR 3 days off in a ROW in a row after BodyBuilding for over 10 years.
Whaddya you guys think who know about this sort of thing?
I just feel like a break at the moment, I’m not really burned out
or tired per se, I just think it’s a good thing to do til I get
back in the game…(BTW My Day Job is fairly Physical most of the day)
I don’t compete or anything myself, but it’a a terrific sport
with some of the best people around in it.
Thanks!

I try not to go 4 hours between training

[quote]Ct. Rockula wrote:
I try not to go 4 hours between training[/quote]

Man, fst-7 is really getting intense.

[quote]The Rattler wrote:

[quote]Ct. Rockula wrote:
I try not to go 4 hours between training[/quote]

Man, fst-7 is really getting intense. [/quote]

Yea man I might have to start putting 4 pounds of chicken in my shakes instead of 2.

I’ve heard stories of guys like Coleman, and Levrone taking a month or two off after practically killing themselves during Olympia preps. Personally, I’ve never taken off more than a week before I start getting all antsy, even when injured.

Are you really gonna lose a ton of muscle from not training? It really comes down to your genetics, and diet. I’m sure there are some people who will look exactly the same, some who will maintain size, but lose a little definition, and others who will seriously change their composition simply from lack of caloric expenditure each day.

S

In-depth answer:

I took a week off after the last 2 eight-week training cycles, after it got a bit intense, and I was having overtraining-type symptoms: sleeping poorly, lack of motivation to train etc.