T Nation

Length and Volume of workouts

I have been lifting for 6 months and lost 20 lbs so far…I am 6’1 and 250 and currently I have been concerned with my workouts lasting for 1.5 to 2 hours. I lift 4 days a week and do 30 min cardio after each lifting session, so I spend like 3 hours in the gym. During the workout I do a split session, Mon - chest + calves + abs (7 exercises; 28 sets); Tue - Legs(8 exercises; 22 sets); Thurs - Back + Shoulders(10 exercises; 29 sets); Fri - Bi’s + Tri’s(7 exercises; 26 sets). Reps average about 8-15 and tempo is 20X0 and I use extremely strict form, and try not to cheat. My questions are: Am I doing too many sets? Should I cut my workout down to under 1 hour? I read somewhere the T levels drop when you workout longer than 1 hour. Also, I change my workout every 4 weeks, get plenty protein, eat about 3000 cal a day, and take a variety of multivitamins, glutamine, and creatine. My current lifts are: Bench-185x12; Squat-315x10; Curls-95x10; I still need to lose a lot of weight, so I plan on going on to the anabolic diet-cutting phase as soon as I get back to college in the fall. Does anybody see a problem with my workout? Comments and sugestions are welcome. Thank You.

I would say you’re doing far too many sets for your level of training. A beginner 6 months into training does not need to be doing 8 exercises for legs. As a recommendation I would say for your larger muscle groups legs, chest, and back, cut your sets down to 10 or 12. For your smaller muscle groups cut the sets down to around 6. This will give you about a 25-30% reduction in volume I believe. Superset things whenever you can so you can finish quicker. On chest day you could superset calves and abs. On leg day superset quads and hams…Then you can superset back and shoulders as well as bi’s and tris. Training in this manner you can go basically non-stop and still be able to lift a heavy weight. The cardio done after the workout is very catabolic on your muscle.