Don’t expect to get the security deposit back, if they’re playing like this.
In all likelihood, the security deposit = about one month’s rent month-to-month. You can either pay a month’s rent and not get the security deposit back, or you can not get the security deposit back and move out June 30.
They will also want to go through a walk-through with your gf/room-mate. This will be to look for damages, etc. they can hold a deposit up to 30 days after you move out, for non-visible damages, etc. Only problem is, if you leave early w/o paying and they take the deposit, they can still sue for the rent for breaking the lease, it’s within their legal right. best bet is to pay the rent, do a walkthrough and hope for at least part of the deposit back. legally, they can and might take deposit and next month’s rent.[/quote]
Landlord/tenant law is governed by the state, what may be legal in Illinois may or may not be legal in your state. Therefore, I suggest you treat the words of a 17 year old son of an Illinois landlord as smoke blowing out of an ass.
If your girlfriend indicated in writing in March that she will not be renewing her lease in July, then it sounds like she gave more than the 2 months required notice.
I suggest you check online for your state’s statutes governing landlord/tenant law. I also suggest you check the statutes governing rental deposits. A landlord’s failure to comply with all the requirements of the statute regarding deposits, in some states, can subject the landlord to treble damages. It may give your girlfriend additional leverage in which to negotiate her way out of paying July rent.