T Nation

Leg Training Destroying Life

I’ve been training legs again and noticed that the DOMS I receive for the next 72-96 hours is getting in my life.

I am a college student and need to walk class to class. It took me 1 hour 13 minutes to walk 1.4 km and I was almost tripping and falling everytime.

What should I do? It is worse than the pain of being stabbed in the legs. I cant live life like this. I cannot omit legs either and pain killers cause health damage.

Should I replace squat with like legpress or something? The DOMS is just wayyy too much.

Are you serious? Lol. Take some advil and get over it. You won’t cause any health damage. The soreness becomes less severe after you get stronger.

max13 is at it. You will get used to squatting and the DOMS won’t be as bad eventually. Also no, painkillers don’t “cause health damage” unless you pop 5000mg of ibuprofen or paracetamol daily. Foam rolling also helps to get the blood flowing.

I didn’t see any leg workouts in the last three weeks of your training log, only some comment about knee pain.

What did your leg workout look like? The exercises, sets, and reps. Did you hit muscular failure on any sets?

Like the guys have said, of course you’re going to have major DOMS when you start training a bodypart that isn’t used to being trained. But as long as your training isn’t dumb, the body will adapt and it’ll soon be no big deal. Make sure you’re eating enough, including workout nutrition (protein-carbs during training), to provide nutrients to recover with.

jesus christ, what would Arnie do?

Imagine you said your post in person to Arnie’s face. What do you think he’d say to you?

I’m laughin so hard currently. I knew this was going to be excellent when I did read the headline.

Seriously though - you’ll get used to it, like said before. I also wonder that have you moved to a new method/higher volume recently? New intensity or volume may hurt a little first. Regular 5x5 should not cripple you like that.