leg strength and speed

I am a 28 yr old military veteran and Im going back to college to play intercollegiate football at a Division III school next year. I was an all-region player in high school, but since I graduated, I quit squatting and dead lifting due to a knee injury. Ive started squatting again, but I have lost almost all of my leg strength. This also affected my speed because to my surprise when I ran the 40 last month, I ran a 5.1 compared to a 4.7 in high school. I was very discouraged at first, but I know that I can gain my strength and speed back with hard work. 1) Does anybody have any tips or pointers on how to increase leg strength? Currently, I perform parrellel squats, step ups, Leg Presses and Calf raises, and Leg curls. Im going to start Box squatting after the new year as well. 2)Any pointers on incorportating a speed/plyo routine in coordination with a good leg workout? Im only 5’9 198, so speed is a must for me. Im still quick, just not good acceleration…well, okay, TERRIBLE acceleration! 3)My bodyfat level has risen a bit (around 18% compared to 11% in high school) and I am working to get that down. How often should I do cardio and is the stationary bike better than an elliptical machine? I know this is a very knowledgable forum and ALL HELP IS VERY APPRECIATED. I have 8 months before the season starts and I am ready to work hard to get back into football shape. Thanks again for any help offered! Good luck achieving your goals as well.

1. As an athlete, your primary leg exercises should be squatting, and then anything which attacks the posterior chain. Your program sounds more like a bodybuilder’s program than an athlete’s. You might want to seriously consider splitting up your leg training as per Ian King and then incorporating deadlifts, olympics, and anything and everything else which attacks the posterior chain.