Leg Press

just wondering if the leg press is considered a legitimate leg excercise. also if at 220lbs, 23 years old, 5’11’’ if a 1018lb leg press for 6 reps is decent and how i can increase my strength with it

thanks all!

It is considered a legitimate exercise for leg development, but not for displaying lower body strength or comparing yourself with others.

Squat…

thanks guys!

Just my opinion as I am far from an expert. Its a good exercise but as far as powerlifting I never saw a huge carryover from leg press to squats. But I’m sure its useful

yeah im noticing it doesn’t carry over to the squat very well

I however hear leg presses can be great for leg drive though.

The question is should you spend your time leg pressing, or would it be more beneficial to just squat.

[quote]bdocksaints75 wrote:
Its a good exercise but as far as powerlifting I never saw a huge carryover from leg press to squats.[/quote]

I think most people experience something similar since quad strength isn’t what holds most people back in the squat. I think people have more problems with holding an upright/efficient position (lower back, abs) and/or extending the hip (glutes, hamstrings).

Just my opinion as I am far from an expert. Its a good exercise but as far as powerlifting I never saw a huge carryover from leg press to squats. But I’m sure its useful[/quote]

I have always felt the carryover was noticed on my conventional deadlift…from the ground to just below the knee.

[quote]Forcesguy wrote:
…and how i can increase my strength with it
[/quote]

Depending on whether you are using it as primary or assistance movement, and providing your method of execution is proper, you use the same methods of progression you would for any other exercise.

[quote]matias95 wrote:
The question is should you spend your time leg pressing, or would it be more beneficial to just squat.[/quote]