T Nation

Leg Development

I’ve been training legs for around 8 months now and have seen some good development and strength gains. The problem I have is that most of the visible development is around the upper leg area and not closer to the knee. I want my legs to look impressive in shorts, but at the moment I just have a big ass and upper thighs.

My leg training is: (working sets)

Front squat 110kg x 5 (working set)
Hamstring curl 50kg x 10 (x4)
Leg press 100kg (max weight on press) x 10 (x4)
Single leg press partial 100kg x 10 (x4)
Leg extension 100kg x 10 (x4)
calf push on leg press??? 100kg x 10 (x4)

Does this look ok or should I change some exercises?

I started at 132 pounds, now I’m almost 170, so I’m happy with my 8 month weight gain, but I want more aesthetic legs.

I can add photos if required, maybe i’m off base. My family leg genetics are abysmal though, so I don’t have much hope.

How are you performing the front squats since they are usually good for development near the knee. I see that reps you do in leg training is quite low esp front squats, try higher reps for a while as legs seem to respond well to that, also try lunge variations and for the front squat and lunges make sure you feel a stretch in the muscles near the knee and that they are working.

[quote]JoabSonOfZeruiah wrote:
How are you performing the front squats since they are usually good for development near the knee. I see that reps you do in leg training is quite low esp front squats, try higher reps for a while as legs seem to respond well to that, also try lunge variations and for the front squat and lunges make sure you feel a stretch in the muscles near the knee and that they are working. [/quote]

I’ve only been doing front squats for about a month so it will probably take a bit of time before I see any results. I have been thinking about doing lunges, I will look into it.

Thanks for the advice.