T Nation

Leg Day for Seniors

I’m a bit of an older trainer ( about to turn 61). I’ve been lifting weights for many years. Typically train a 4 day split. Squat day, BP day, DL day, shoulders accessories day. I’ve recently developed issues with squats and will probably be limited to squatting above parallel. DL is still fine.
I’m thinking of changing my training to a “leg day” not a squat day. I would typically ramp up to a top set of 2-5 reps, then a few down sets.
I need some help with exercise selection. I train at home and have the following items available to use in my training.
Power rack with straight bar, SSB , harness for front squats, a thick bar for Zercher squats, horizontal leg press ( which also is pretty uncomfortable with a fuller range of motion), seated knee extensions and seated knee flexion,
Do I start with a high squat ( not high bar but depth) a so called 1/4 squat then some additional movements ?
My squatting style was low bar to parallel and I felt it really help with glutes and hamstring strength. I never did much quad work, but always felt my quads were getting work enough with squats.
My goals are to keep my legs strong, avoid further injury by training around my limitations in hip flexion. But mostly continue to enjoy training.
Any thoughts or advice on how to design a leg day is appreciated.

This post is being moved to the over 35 crowd. My home base
Any additional thoughts welcome

If you can hit decent depth right now your relative upright torso, knees traveling forward high bar squats are going to build your quads well.

You don’t have to resign yourself to poor mobility even if you’re 60. Have you gotten checked out by a pro? Issue could be resolved. Work around could be found also e.g. if ankle flexibility is a limiting factor some weightlifting shoes would work wonders