T Nation

Leg Curl Substitute

Are there any exercise that hits the hammies better than leg curl does? Don't say stiff legged deadlift because I feel it more in my lower back and also because it's too taxing to do it at the end of my leg workout.

Romanian Deadlifts and Glute-Ham Raises

I don’t feel this thread is going to go well.

E–I could watch that mini-vid all day; hypnotic it is.

I really need a button, to trigger that on demand, full screen, whenever needed…which in my line of work, would be often.

Sorry, is this what a ‘hijack’ is?

My bad.

[quote]Evolv wrote:
Glute-Ham Raises[/quote]

thanks
i’ve never done this exercise before so might aswell start now

[quote]dagill2 wrote:
I don’t feel this thread is going to go well.[/quote]

sure, it does sounds stupid and probably a waste of time too :slight_smile:

[quote]denver z-man wrote:
E–I could watch that mini-vid all day; hypnotic it is.

I really need a button, to trigger that on demand, full screen, whenever needed…which in my line of work, would be often.

Sorry, is this what a ‘hijack’ is?

My bad.

[/quote]

I don’t mind

I should have added;

If you do lying curls, try the seated version; better stretch/squeeze for me. low to mid reps, Meadows style (done first btw).

Rack pulls superseted/alternated with RDL’s, on a (gasp) Smith Machine. Easy to strip/add plates. Yes, low back, glute AND hamstring on the pulls, but really focused on Hams with the RDL’S. Maybe later, in the same workout as seated curls.

I just did this to finish a back/pulling workout, felt great.
Good luck.

good mornings will work hammies and glutes.

Also Google/YouTube “John Meadows Ham Killers.”

[quote]Sigrid16 wrote:
Are there any exercise that hits the hammies better than leg curl does?[/quote]
According to EMG analysis that Bret Contreras did, a 405-pound conventional deadlift hit the hamstrings harder than just about any other exercise he tested. So, aim for that.