Leaving Private Gym, Back to Solo

Due to full time school and full time job plus a family, I’m having to leave the private west-side method gym I’ve been lifting at for 6 months. I got up to a 450 Deadlift, 280 Bench, and 500 Squat, but I simply just didn’t have time for the stress of everything I was expected to do outside of the gym, plus, I need control over the exact times I lift.

Trying to refocus on what I’m going to do next. I don’t think I’ll go back to the Wendler 5/3/1 I was doing before, as I’ve come to realize that it’s a modest program for modest results.

While my goals are to become stronger, I no longer feel the need or pressure to compete anywhere. My ultimate goal is now hypertrophy, and cutting the 30 pounds I gained while at this gym, hopefully back down to something like 12-15% bf at 200 lbs down from 225 @ 18% bf or so in the next 5 months.

What sounds like a good option for me to accomplish these goals? Workout routine? Possibly start a west-side variant like Cube or something that doesn’t require the wide array of equipment stocked in my old gym…

Which commercial gyms are probably best for what I’d like to accomplish?

Hey buddy. Recently I’ve had some similar thoughts about 5/3/1. My strategy for picking a new program was simple: I thought about what I need to get bigger and stronger, and it’s incredibly straightforward.

1. I need to do the big movements, really heavy

2. I need to do the big movements for a lot of lighter reps with beautiful technique and speed

3. I need to do assistance movements to build up my big movements

4. I need to do some conditioning.

Those are pretty much the only things that matter, when it comes right down to it. So, I came up with this really simple plan

Heavy lower body (or max effort, same thing really)
Heavy upper body
Conditioning/whatever else
Rep lower body
Rep upper body
Conditioning/whatever else.