T Nation

Learning to Clean in 5/3/1

Let’s say I’m laying down my programming for the next couple of months with all the details - templates, assistance exercises, days and kind of conditioning and so forth.
How do I fit in learning a new movement I’ve never done before and that I need to train from zero?
I thought about doing an extra day (saturday) where I just go to the gym and practice technique starting with the empty barbell - things like jump and catch drill, proper knee/hip/torso angles, starting stance and so on, progressing with just very light weights.
What I need is to ingrain the correct movement so that I can later on fit it into the workouts to make some progress with the weight.

Details:
-interested in power cleans
-no specific equipment available: no bumper plates, no olympic bars, no olympic platform, can’t drop the bar
-no coaching available
-available time to learn proper technique: 6-12 months, doesn’t really matter

Why don’t you spend some time after your mobility/jumping/throwing on learning the power clean? Saves you a trip to the gym and takes no time. Our kids do something similar prior to training as a warm-up and it takes little time.

I usually do jumps at the end of the warmup before the workout, then mobility at home with static stretching either before I go to bed or when I get back from walking/running (I don’t mind going to the gym but once I get there I try to get done and get back as soon as possible).

How should I practice it tho? With empty barbell and slowly adding 10lbs plates?
I practiced a bit yesterday, press day, I simply cleaned the weight at the start of every set instead of using the rack. Could do it on every workout along with the practice, my TM on press is going to be set at 110lbs in the next cycle, so the weight is manageable.
It wasn’t exactly a clean tho, more like the jump and catch drill.