Learning the Piano

Hey,

I was wondering if there was any late learners of this beautiful instrument? I’ve been mingling around, considering starting on the piano, with no musical knowledge whatsoever, at the age of 18.

So how was your experiences with this? How “hard” did/do you feel it is to actually progress well? Personaly I would really like to be able to play classical music.

Also, if you got any recs on a good digital piano, I’d love to hear them.

[quote]asusvenus wrote:
Hey,

I was wondering if there was any late learners of this beautiful instrument? I’ve been mingling around, considering starting on the piano, with no musical knowledge whatsoever, at the age of 18.

So how was your experiences with this? How “hard” did/do you feel it is to actually progress well? Personaly I would really like to be able to play classical music.

Also, if you got any recs on a good digital piano, I’d love to hear them.[/quote]

I started playing the piano a couple months ago. I’ve been using Youtube tutorials to learn songs. Its definitely not as good as a legit teacher or anything, but it gets the job done.

It was pretty tough to progress, but thats just because I’m super ADD. Once I developed a wee bit of insomnia I had time to kill so I cranked up the practice alot.

I would recommend getting a good local teacher from the start, because otherwise you will pick up bad habits (this applies to all instruments, but especially classical piano). You need to develop good technique and form.

I’m in the same boat as you asusvenus, keep my updated on what your doing. I want to pick up this instrument very badly.

I’m actually joining my local music school, where I will be assigned a private teacher, so technique and form, probably won’t even get to the point of being a problem, as I have no preprogrammed “playing style”.

That’s cool Tommy, what kind of music do you play now?

That One Guy > Will do, as long as you do the same;)