Learning Capoeira

I’ve been thinking for a while about getting into a martial art- I feel I need to do something with my body besides just training. I want the discipline, felxibility and coordination that can be acquired through learning a martial art.

My roommate is a tae kwon doe black belt and I’ve gone to watch a few of his classes. As neat as some of the things they do are, I am more intruiged by capoeira than anything else. But since there are no schools around my town I thought it would be possible to individually learn some basics. My questions for anybody here that is involved in capoeira are:

What can I do by myself to learn some basics of capoeira?

Are there any speific type of weight training/stretches I could do to get my body prepared for the demands of capoeira?

Any input I could get will be appreciated.
Il Don

Rent/buy Tekken 3.

I took a few Capoeira classes this summer, so I’m no expert, but you may want to work on cartwheels- one handed, no hands, legs bent, a few in a row, really any permutation you can think of. I had a lot of trouble with them, and many movements are based around cartwheels. We also did a lot of hand stands, head stands, and push-up variations.

Capoeira: Roots of the Dance-Fight-Game and The Little Capoeira Book are 50% History and 50% Technique (illustrated by black stick figures…). Nothing too fancy hear, but the history of the game is more important to this art than most.

I read through Capoeira Conditioning: How to Build Strength, Agility, and Cardiovascular Fitness Using Capoeira Movements at Barnes and Noble. There were about 5-10 useful looking things in there.

Capoeira 100: An Illustrated Guide to the Essential Movements and Techniques just came out and as 2 good reviews on amazon. All technique, not much history. I haven’t read this one.

All are available on amazon. Try not to break your head.