Learning Acrobatic Moves

Hi friends!

Im still new to the combat scene. I have been training BJJ and boxing for about 2 years now.

Im always looking for an edge, and I was looking into incorporating some acrobatic moves into my training. I understand that flashy back flips etc will not replace the basics, but I was thinking about doing some acrobatic moves for 5-10 minutes after my strength sessions at the gym. Im hoping that this will improve my athleticism and I may possibly find some movements useful in my future combat training.

I was thinking that I would like to learn how to do a cartwheel first. Im 6’2, 205 lbs, and have never cartwheeled before. Anybody can give me some tips? Anyone else have any experience in this type of training? Im not too sure on how to go about it.

tweet

Man Bird no one replied.

I think this is a great idea and is something I did for a while. I worked on cartwheels handstands/hand walking/ front hand springs.

I did it because it allowed for a more dynamic warm up and I thought at least I was cultivating some still at the same time.

Plus GSP did the same thing and well GSP is the fucking man so I thought I would give it a shot.

BTW what part of Aus you in?

1 Like

@oglebee: thanks for the reply bro.

I’m in Western Australia. You?

Are you still doing flips and tricks?

I’ve been spending 5 minutes doing cartwheels at the end of my gym session twice a week. Getting better.

tweet

WA gross man. Haha just kidding.

I have in my late twenties once again found myself in school. It is all consuming so I haven’t been doing any training but I watched some inspirational David Goggins videos and that shits about to change.

I am in the Illawara.

All good bro.

School is good. You should start a training log.

tweet

I didn’t see this first time out.
In my judo club we warm up with cartwheels and a forward jump into hand stand into froward roll.
We also do a backwards break fall into backwards roll into hand spring.