T Nation

Learning a Trade in Your Late 20s

This is a question primarily for the tradesmen here; particularly those working in construction (carpenters, brick masons, concrete finishers, etc). That said, I would appreciate input from anyone in any field.

What are the possible career paths for someone in their late 20s who is considering entering a trade? Would attending a trade school be of considerable benefit, or does it make more sense to search for an apprenticeship right out of the gate? What is the general perception of an apprentice in my age bracket versus someone straight out of high school? Do you believe that my age would be detrimental in my search for an apprenticeship, and if so, do you have any advice on how to overcome this obstacle (i.e. formal education, related experience, etc)?

Essentially, I’m a 27 year old male who is considering a career change from a totally unrelated field. I have very little experience in construction outside of some small, self-taught home projects. That said, I live in a rapidly growing city where the job prospects for tradesmen are very good. Any advice on how to go about this change would be greatly appreciated.

I’m in construction management.

I would analyze your reasoning for wanting to make the change, not because construction is some anomaly of a career, but because it will take investment to be successful. The same would be true if you were considering law school or selling everything to live on a commune.

What trade(s) are interesting to you? What do you do now?

27, is not too old.

I have done this, at about the same time (32yrs. old).

I can give a more in depth response later, but it’s dinner time right now.

Thank you for your response.