Leaning out vs. Bulking up

One more question for y’all. I am posting this because maybe many others have the same dilemma. I’m rather new at all this, and have a ways to go before I feel confidence with the decisions I make regarding my diet and workout protocols. One of the vexing questions I face concerns leaning out vs. bulking up. Which is better?

AT 42 years of age and 15% BF, my goal is obviously to get down to a lower BF. It seems that the best approach is to FIRST lean out then bulk up. I would like to hear from others who have applied this technique and would like to hear your results.

Currently I am doing HST (I have just started week three) and am trying to figure out a diet plan that will get me leaner before bulking up.

I wanted to end this email with acknowledgement and thanks to Tampa-Terry (or more appropriately
Terrific Tampa Terry) for suggesting this post - as so many other t-maggers might relate to this subject. Thanks all.

The “Essential Berardi” article at T-mag sums this up nicely. Check it out in previous issues or use the search if you haven’t already.

Lorne, the abreviated version directly from JB’s mouth:

"Too Fat to go on a Mass Phase?

"Q. You’ve written before that going on a mass phase isn’t a good idea for a person who isn’t already lean because this leads to rapid fat gain. So how lean should a person be before cranking up the calories?