Lean Muscle Gain Nutrition

Hello everyone,
I’m starting to take my nutrition a bit more seriously to try to add some muscle. Articles by CT and Chris against bulking resonate with me, so I want to gain as much muscle as possible while minimizing fat gain.

About me:

• 22 year old male, 5’5’', 140 lbs, around 8% BF (at least that’s what the caliper roughly puts me at every week).

After some reading about calorie intake for muscle gain, I started off with 2900 daily calories four weeks ago. 100% real food, no junk. I’ve put 7 lbs in those 4 weeks (little fat apparently, so I imagine it’s a lot of water weight?).

This was the first week where I actually weighed less than last week. Just a few questions, as I’m fairly new at this:

1. If I find I did not even maintain the weight as last week, does that mean I should increase to maybe 3000 calories? Or is it normal in a more quality mass diet to sometimes drop weight in a week?

2. I do feel somewhat hungry on some days. I eat little veggies admittedly, so I can eat more of those to feel fuller. However, I always hear quality muscle gain nutrition requires a lot of eating, and it doesn’t feel too hard. Is that an indication that I should increase calories?

I didn’t find much about point #2 on these forums (hunger being ok while putting on muscle), so I was hoping to hear some thoughts.

Thanks for the help and sorry for the huge post!

Although some people will say that a calorie is not just a calorie, I think it is. Obviously, fats/carbs/proteins are processed in their own unique ways in your body, but when it comes down to it, a caloric surplus will lead to weight gain.