Lateral Raise Form: How Important?

Hi guys,
I’ve been bodubuilding for about 6 years now, i’m no Ronnie Coleman but i really enjoy it!

I have a question. i like working out my shoulders but i was wondering how important is form when doing a lateral raise?

Should your arms start by your sides and move straught out with no bend?
Or is it ok to do it with elbows bent as long as you still raise your shoulders the same?

Cheers, Joe.

It shouldn’t matter if you’re consistent. Obviously you can handle more weight if you bend your arms since you’re shortening the lever arm. This may in fact make it easier to progress.

keeping your arms straight is hell on your elbows. Slight bend. I hold the dumbbell at my waist and maintain that bend through the movement.

scapular plane. google it on top.

I see way too many idiots swinging the dumbells with their arms cocked at 90 degree angles, falling down in front of their torsos. Personally, I allow the weights to come down at my sides (keep stress on lateral head), and keep the angle of the elbow to a minimum, just to protect the joint a bit.

S

Has anyone actually found lateral raises to be effective or is everyone doing them just to follow the crowd?

Typically I find that my traps get most of the focus.

I prefer to do my lateral raises with cables, I grab the cable handle from the opposite side so that my arms start in a fully crossed X position, and it pretty much doubles the ROM. Got the idea watching a Milos Sarcev training video. He gives some good tips in there on how to make sure you keep focus on the lateral head of the delt and not shift it to the traps or anterior delt. And I definitely feel these more than anything else in my medial delt.

[quote]Lorisco wrote:
Has anyone actually found lateral raises to be effective or is everyone doing them just to follow the crowd?

[/quote]

If you remember to be humble, and seriously don’t mind using lighter weight, they can definitely hit the side delts.