Lat Problems - Just Won't Respond

I’ve been training for over 2 years now and am having serious problems with working on my lats - no matter what exercise I try, I can’t seem to get my lats to respond. The result is that I have pretty good upper back, shoulders and arm definition but non-existent lats. I’ve tried all variety of exercises, both compound and isolations, but nothing seems to work.

I’ve noticed that unlike other body parts where I feel ‘the burn’ after exercising, I feel close to nothing while doing my back. I assume that my shoulders and arms are taking most of the load during my back routine, hence ignoring my lats completely. I was experiencing the same problem with my chest, but I made up for that using the Chest Specialization program.

The exercises that I’ve tried so far are:

Suppinated and wide grip Pull ups (first and foremost)
Dumbell rows
Bent-over rows
Seated rows
Pull down
Pull over

Any suggestions?

post pics.

and maybe post a video of you doing pullups or pulldowns.

This may or may not help, take it with a grain of salt:

When you grab onto the barbell or dumbell for any of the exercises, imagine that there is only a hook-like appendage below the elbow. And the only way to pull is to focus on moving your elbow backwards, with little to no emphasis on moving the “hook” intentionally.

Also, you could buy a pair of grizzly hooks and just use those for back exercises.

How many consecutive strict dead hang pullups can you do?

If the answer is less than 20, then focusing your lat work solely on doubling the number will blow up your lats. A GTG-style approach is probably the best way to get that number up quickly.

If you can already knock out 25 strict pullups and you have little lats, I’d say you’re just shit out of luck, sorry.

Have you tried not weighing 170lbs?

LOl at mr popular…

how much did you weigh 2 years ago?
how much do you weigh now?