Lanky Me Chasing 5 More lbs, 1 More Rep

So I decided to start recording my progress just for the sake of.

Short term goal is: Squat 1.5x BW, Bench 1x BW, Deadlift 2x BW all with proper form of course. - Edit: I’ve reached these already!
Eventually goal will be S 2x, B 1.5x, D 2.5x, OHP 1x
Right now I’m at 72kg (158.4 lbs) at 5’9"

Currently on SL 5x5 for 3 months now. Before that, I had around 1 year gym experience just doing whatever the trainer told me to do so no real progression or programming, just familiarization with lifts. Had to stop 3 months and then started on SL when I got back. So yes, I’m a newbie. Looking to transition into 5/3/1 sooner or later.

I’ll be posting some videos from time to time. Feel free to help me improve my form and technique (or on anything else really). It will be highly appreciated.

27 August 2022
5 more lbs, 1 more rep

For a brief time, the title was 4-3.5-2-1
I think it’s just a matter of time before I hit 4-3.5-2-1.
Currently already hit D 385 x 1, S 315 x 3, B 175 x 2, and OHP 125 x 5
Of course the next question will inevitably be: what next?
As Jim Wendler would put it (not exact words)
What’s after 315? 320.
If you did 315 x 1, now you did 2, then you’ve gotten stronger.

So yeah, just 5 more lbs, 1 more rep.

2 Likes

10 February 2019

Squat 97.5kg x 5 x 5

Bent over row 60kg x 5 x 4
Stopped at 4 sets because I didn’t like how vertical my back was getting. Trying to be more on the horizontal side, maybe at 30 degrees, 45 at most, to improve lower back isometric strength for deads

Bench 55kg x 5 x 1
Felt awful. Probably shouldn’t have dropped weight based on program but I did 52.5kg x 5 x 4 afterwards. Will just have to try again next session. Last bench was 8 days ago so maybe that was a factor?

Cable Lat pull downs 47.5kg x 10 x 3
Seated Cable Pec Deck Flyes 110 lbs x 10 x 3

Hyperextensions BW x 10 x 1 then holding 10kg plate x 10 x 2