T Nation

Lagging Hypertrophy

So I'm 19 and I've been lifting for 3 years now. I've done 2 powerlifting meets and 1 bodybuilding show. At the bbing show I was absolutely dwarfed by the other teen (I couldn't believe he was a teen lol).

Anyways this leads me to my next point: how come I always seem to make strength gains significantly faster than hypertrophy gains? My best lifts are 385lb squat, 230lb (touch and go) bench, and 475lb deadlift yet I'm not exactly the biggest as u can see in my avi. Does it have something to do with the fact that I'm only 19?
P.S. I don't believe in doing "brosplits". I believe in high frequency and progressive overload

How have you been training exactly? Have you tried different methods? At 19 you still have plenty to learn about what your body responds to best.

And of course if you arent getting bigger, eat more than you are.

some people just do mate, genetics can be a bitch sometimes.

I know you don't believe in "brosplits" (grrr), but considering what you are doing now isn't doing what you want it to, don't you think it's worth trying something different?

This

You probably need to train with more TUT and more volume per bodypart. I can pull/squat/sometimes bench the around the same or more that a few of the physique guys at the gym but they all look much more developed than I do.

Also this.

Yeah maybe.The 1st year and a half I did brosplits. Made newb gains and then I plateaued. Since then I've been doing either Layne Norton's PHAT or some powerlifting program.

Currently am eating 4000cals/day. Can't eat TOO much or else I'll get fat cause I'm an endo-mesomorph (if you believe in somatotypes)

I do a lot of volume, but I guess I do train pretty explosively most of the time. I'll try to slow down my reps (uggh I hate lifting light weights lol)

Ha, me neither. Didn't help that he was a bunch taller and you guys were the only ones on stage. But that's the (crappy) luck of the draw. All you can do is focus on you.