lagging chest

this may be long:

i’ve been training steadily for a couple of years and i’ve always noticed that my chest seems to show the least progress (especially in size) when compared to other muscle groups. my chest/tris workout right now is as follows:

3-4 X 8-12 db or bench press
3-4 X 8-12 incline db or bench press
3-4 X 8-12 decline db or bench press
4 X 8-12 butterflies (machine)
3 X 8-12 seated tricep press
3 X 8-12 dips/assisted dips

i’ve always made sure that the weight i started with allowed me to hit 12 reps on my first set of presses, then i increase the weight until i drop to approx. 8 reps for the last set. should i just start with heavier weights on the first set?

also, lately i’ve noticed certain guys at the gym are doing db presses with 80-85-90 lb. dbs but only bringing the weights to about 6 inches from their chests. i think i have pretty good form, but i bring the weights down so that the sides of the dbs are almost parallel with the sides of my pecs and pretty close to my body (i.e. not a very wide grip.) could this be contributing to my lack of progress.

one last thing (long way down): if the answer is to train chest 2X a week, would high volume flat/incline/decline push-ups suffice, or would i have to hit the gym another day?

any serious replies would be appreciated. thanks.

try lowering the volume, thats insane. try 5x5 twice weekly [ what i do, seems to work for me] until you adapt, then do somethin different.
or search this site, and others for a BETTER routine, cause you’ve probably adapted to yours.
peace, flash

just a wild guess but could it be too much volume?

First off, drop the declines, and do some more inclines. Do dips immediately after all of your pressing movements, as this can work your chest and tris depending on your body angle. Do incline flies, as you can get a better stretch with these.