T Nation

Lagging Bench Press

Hello all, I’ve been lifting on and off for two years without a particular goal (except loving to deadlift) in mind until January of this year. From there I wanted to put on weight and then compete in powerlifting once I felt my lifts were on point.

From January to November I went from 145lbs to 170lbs (picture included). From about May onward I began using Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 and began working on all my lifts. My deadlift max is 330lbs (I scale down to 315 since my form wasnt what I wanted)

https://youtu.be/677uavee1x0 )

My back squat is 225x3

(My max that I dont have recorded is like 250lbs). However my bench press is 135lbs for 3 reps and I dont even go all the way down (I learned this after a recent video I took to double check here:

On another note my press is 115lbs for 1 rep, no video alot of grinding though.

I attached videos of all three lifts and I’m hoping someone can spot something I’m doing wrong and recommend a way forward to where I can improve my bench press and push it to where it should be, compared to my other lifts.

Thanks all, I hope to be able to compete with you all down the road sometime :slight_smile:

-Iron

There’s a bunch you need to work on with your bench press.

First is touching your chest. Do you know why you can’t? Is is a mobility issue or did you simply not know you weren’t touching? I’m hoping it is the latter, because that’s easier to fix. If it’s mobility, I have zero knowledge so can’t really help.

I’d suggest benching the empty bar and seeing if you can touch with that. If you can, add 10 lbs and repeat as many times as possible. Take 90% of the highest load you can touch and use that as your training max.

I’d also suggest working on your setup. From one crappy bencher to another, learning how to get a decent arch makes a massive difference.