T Nation

Lack of Weights

Okay this is my first post, and im a newb. So sorry for my intial ignorance. Im 17, 6'3" and between 160-170 lbs right now. I got a weight bench for christmas, so ive been working out since January. Im currently doing a total body workout 3 days a week, with abs/calves on the days in between. My biggest issue right now is ive gotten bigger and stronger since my i first started, and all i have is a Weider bench, a light barbell, and about 130 lbs of weights.

So i cant do heavy squats or deadlifts, so my legs workouts are now nearly intense anymore I need a) a way to add more resistance or b) get suggestions for where to get a cheap used home gym, with like a squat rack, bench, pull-up bar,ect. with lots of weight and or a heavy dumbell set that goes up to at leat 100lbs. oh and just to let you know, im obviosly trying to gain size and strength right now, ad get an athletic, lean build.

[quote]Spidey22 wrote:
Im currently doing a total body workout 3 days a week, with abs/calves on the days in between.[/quote]

What exactly does your workout on each day look like now (exercises sets, and reps)?

What plates do you have? How many 5s, 10s, 45s, etc?

Can you front squat and back squat 130 for 8-10 reps? Can you deadlift, sumo deadlift, and Romanian deadlift 130 for 8-10 reps? Can you lunge, reverse lunge, and step-up with 130 pounds for 8-10 reps?

If you answered “no” to one or more of those, then you don’t exactly need more weight for an intense leg workout.

Is “just buy it” too obvious a suggestion? You don’t need to get a ton of weight right away, depending on your current strength levels (as I mentioned above). Take a look at your local sporting goods store (Wal-Mart, Target, Dick’s, Sports Authority, Modell’s, whatever’s nearby) to get an idea of the price of a pair of 25-pound plates.