T Nation

Lack of Self-Criticism

Hi! That's my first thread here. I've been following these forums for two months now and have to say they are excellent.

There is one thing that I can't really understand though - the lack of self-criticism of some people. Reading some posts in the beginners forum I sometimes wonder about the standards people use to judge themselves.

Let's take an average beginner - 5'8 - 6'0, 140-180lbs or over 180lbs with more body fat (very rough estimation, just to give an idea). Of course the person can be shorter or taller, but the proportions are the same.

And now, such person would:
1) want to cut for summer
2) say they don't want to get bigger -they're already pretty big
3) worry about their genetic potential
4) claim their right arm is substantialy bigger than the left
5) reinvent the diet&training wheel again and again
6) wonder why stronger winds blow him away.

I'm a beginner myself. I made some progress in the last 6 months I'm happy with. But when I look at myself in the mirror I always say 'Nowhere near... Need looong time till it looks the way I want.'

And now I just wonder - how can other beginners think differently? Do some people live in a complete isolation? Have you ever seen someone with big muscles? What makes you think you're 'the man' already? Look at some people at this site, look at some big dudes in your gym... How do you compare to them? Come on people, sober up from your fucking illusions.

Well, many of the beginners here are around 15-17 years old. That means they are in high school. That means they shop at Abercrombie and Fitch. That means what they think is an ideal body is a cut up 6’0 180 pound bitch model with his shirt off to show his killer abz and nice chest separation.

This is obviously an exaggeration and oversimplification but I think you get my point.

Also, a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing…