T Nation

Lack of Knowledge

Ive been lifting for football for about 3 years during the offseason but never took it very seriously, but this offseason i am.

I started lifting mid Nov. after the season was over and put on good gains and put on about 15 pounds im now around 184. seemed like the first 10 weeks everything shot up and i was putting on lean mass and got good gains but now it seems much slower this past 3 weeks or so.

Heres my Routine: Mon: Back and Bi's
Wed: Tri's and Chest
Sat: Legs and Shoulders

I never do the same lifts minus the core ones. for ex. mon ill do deadlifts but switch up two other back exercises or wed. ill do bench and switch up two other chest exercises with something else like push ups, incline, decline etc. Sat. ioll always do squats for legs and military press for shoulders...well anyways you get the idea im sure.

So my routines a 3 day split and i do 3-4 sets and pyramid down most of the time (12-10-8-6)

Is this a bad routine or not, becuase like i said my gaines have seemed to slow down alot.

What do you guys use for gains in mass and strentgh for football, and recieved good gains with? Im really looking to get up to around 200 and increase strentgh and quickness and need your help
Please Critique or criticize

THis looks more like a bodybuilding routine that a sports conditioning routine. You gotta scrap it. You'll build up more muscle and be ready to kill people on the field by digging through Chad Waterbury's and Joe DeFranco, Dave Tate's, Eric Cressey's articles. You want quickness, you gotta lift explosively. Look under strength sports forums too. Christian Thibadeau is a good sports author as well.