Lack of Appetite After Workout

I had this problem back when I was in the Army, and now that I’ve been lifting for 6 months, I have it again: I not only have no appetite after a workout, I actually feel repulsed by the thought of food.

This does not stop me from eating, but it makes it mightily unpleasant. It’s similar to that feeling you get when shoveling down the 100th forkful of the same food you’ve been eating several times a day, every day, for many months: You don’t want to eat it, your body doesn’t even want you to eat it. You have to force yourself to chew, and swallowing is a conscious effort, followed by a battle to keep the food down.

In short, the thought/smell/sight of food makes me feel physically ill for an hour or more after a good workout.

Sometimes changing up my diet a bit (variety, not macros or calories) can help a bit, but it never really goes away.

Oddly my thirst isn’t affected, and I don’t leave the gym feeling sick, only exhausted.

I tend to have a peri-workout drink of Grow! (3 scoops), cinnamon, and L-Leucine. I also have some plain water. I eat 30-90 minutes before my workouts, and I avoid carbs almost entirely prior to my workouts. I will sometimes have 1/2 cup of rolled oats for breakfast, however, and I almost always have an apple or some other fruit as part of my midmorning snack.

Does anyone else have this problem, or has anyone overcome this problem? If so, I’d be interested in hearing about it.

[quote]mcl wrote:
I had this problem back when I was in the Army, and now that I’ve been lifting for 6 months, I have it again: I not only have no appetite after a workout, I actually feel repulsed by the thought of food.