Lab Results: 27 y/o, "Normal" T

Hey everyone,

Thought I would post up my lab results and get some feedback. I am 27 ( 5’ 9" 195lbs w/ high BF) and for a little while have been gaining weight (especially abdominal fat ) despite a much improved diet, difficulty gaining muscle, always tired, low libido, and overall lack of interest / depression. Originally thought it was due to a stressful job and crazy work schedule but the problems have persisted. I work in the medical field so I have a pretty good knowledge base but admittedly do not understand this area too well.

I am considering making an appointment with a local Urologist who advertises for Men’s Health and Low T but thought I would get some baseline labs first to see if it is worth it. Anyway here they are. Any input would be appreciated

TSH 2.970 uIU/ml
T4 9.2 ug/dl
T3 uptake 28%
Free Thyro index 2.6

Testosterone, Serum 447 ng/dl
Free Testosterone 12.1 pg/ml

Hemoglobin 15.5 g/dl
Hematocrit 45.3%

When you go to the urologist, I’d have them rerun some of the above tests along with a couple of others:

1. TSH looks high. Recheck this one again.
  2. Free T3.
  3. Free T4.
  4. Both thyroid antibodies.
  5. Total Testosterone - 447 isn’t horrible but should be in the 600 range for 27 years old. What time of the day did you have this measured?
  6. Free Testosterone - Same comment as #5 above.
  7. Estradiol Sensitive or ultrasensitive.

Thanks for the feedback. Labs were drawn at 10am.

Always need lab ranges.
Skip T3 uptake and free thyro indexes, those are obsolete.

TSH should be near 1.0
T3, T4, fT3, fT4 should be near mid-range or a bit higher.

Thyroid is not right. Labs ranges are useless because you are “normal” when you are suffering.

Problem may be iodine deficiency.
What is your history of [not] using iodized salt?
Post oral body temps - see below.
Are you getting 150-200mcg selenium in your vitamins? Selenium deficiency probably cause for thyroid autoimmune diseases.