T Nation

L3 and L4 Disks - Flattened and Degenerated

Guys as you can see by the title I am having back problems, I have been having back pain, upper and lower, and pain down into my right hip and leg to the knee for about a year now. Recently got the results back from an MRI scan which told me that my L3 AND L4 are "flattened and degenerated".

Next step in treatment is a steroid injection into my back which I think is quite likely, and after that it is surgery which I want to avoid at all costs. My pain has recently become worse as I have been hitting my squat and deadlift hard up untill last week when I decided to stop training till the new year apart from doing a bit off a routine on my gymnastics rings, just to give my spine a break from heavy loading.

I have had my form checked on my squat and deadlift and it is extremely good (not to blow my own horn too much), I have been training for 5 years and know what I am doing as far as this is concerned.

I am just wondering is there anything I can do other than hanging leg raises, planks etc. to help sort this out? Or would I be better just to give up on the idea of ever squatting heavy again??
By the way I am turning 21 in a few months if this has any bearing on things.
Thanks in advance, J

At 21 years old, unless you have been training poorly or been taking part in an activity that has ruined your disc, I am curious as to how you came to get this degenerated disc. Was there a bulge at the L3-L4 level, or was there just degeneration? Was the MRI done just at the lumbar region or did it include thoracic spine as well?