T Nation

Kyphosis/Lordosis Corrective Routine

I have mild kyphosis and lordosis. I’ve been using this routine for about two months have noticed some improvement not only in my posture but also in my mobility. For instance, I used to fall backwards while squatting and I couldn’t lunge without falling over. No more. The overhead squat (with a broomstick) is also much easier. It feels good. If anyone has any suggestions or criticisms (additions/deletions/modifications), I would like to hear them. Thank you.

Day 1:

3 X 6 Snatch Grip Deadlift on 1-inch Board
3 X 6 Dumbbell Rows

Ab Roller: 3 sets of 15 second isometric holds.

Day 2:

15 minutes HIIT Treadmill on Radical Incline (for fat loss and posterior strength).

Day 3:

8 X 4 Box Step Ups
8 X 4 Dumbell Side Bends
8 X 4 Cable Crunch (Standing)
8 X 4 Face Pulls
8 X 4 Cable Rows (Wide Grip)
8 X 4 Dip Shrugs
10 X 3 Scap Pushups

Day 4:

10 X 4 Kettlbell Swings

Daily Stretchs and Mobility Work:

Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch, Calf Stretch, Quad Stretch, Pectoral Stretch, Lat Stretch, Internal Rotator Stretch, Neck Stretch, Lunges.

I had a similar problem, one thing that has helped me a ton is to do your box step ups with a barbell and front squat grip. Tough…and do some lunges with a front squat grip. Also, hit that foam roller man…always hit that foam roller. Roll thoracic spine, lats, glutes, hip flexors and quads. good work!

I saw a physiotheraphist for the same problem - he has me run paper tape (medical tape) down my spine which acted as a constant reminder when I wasn’t in the gym. If I slumped my posture the tape pulled at my skin and gently reminded me stand or sit straighter. It worked. Does something like retrain the muscles in my back.

I am in the gym tops 1 hr, this taping my back took care of the rest of the day and reinforced my gym work.

Something you may benefit from.