Kyokushin Experiences?

I have always wanted to pursue kyokushin karate and was wondering if anyone has had any meaningful amount of experience with the martial art. Did you focus on sparring or kata. My background is in boxing, but I always thought kicks were cool.

One of the hardest, if not THE hardest karate style.
T-Nation brethren Blazin Dave is a serious Kyukushinkaikan, as far as I know, but he’s offline for many months to come.
If you’ll happen to practise it with regard to competition and tournments, be warned: it’s a painful road to go down.

I consider the style very incompatible to boxing, since in Kumite you strike at the body only. However, in contast to Tae Kwon Do and most Karate and Gung Fu styles, we’re talking about full force punching. Many Kyokushinkai fighters I knew had a nagging injury because of this.
The posture is very compact and you learn to guard your body well through rolling, blocking and sheer toughness.

As for your boxing skills, that means your ellbows will never flare out again.
But also your head movement and defense will get sloppier without extra training (like a boxing session per week).
And as for kicking, you definitely learn more beautiful kicks in TWD and Karate styles like Goju Ryu.

Kyokushin kicks are economical and practical for the most part. The “brazilian kick”(look up Glaube Feitosa) is an expert solution to kick forcefully and deceptifully to the head without exposing your standing leg to a lowkick too early.
I have had little direct training in Kyok., so as for the Kata, I find it pretty much useless like all Kata.

Bottom line:
Don’t expect to practise sommersault kicks. Expect brutal training that can border on sheer madness (depending on your sensei, of course).
That means:
Give it a try!

I was never really interested in karate, but man, you caught my attention :wink:

[quote]Schwarzfahrer wrote:
One of the hardest, if not THE hardest karate style.